Music Monday: David Bowie’s The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust

Everyone loves David Bowie. And everyone that doesn’t only feels that way because they’ve never heard (enough) Bowie or they have terrible taste.

Alright, maybe that’s not fair to say. But it’s no secret that Bowie’s one creative, talented, innovative bastard that’s made some incredible music over the years, regardless of how you feel about him or his work (not to mention his influence on music and on society in general – I can never get enough Ziggy Stardust androgyny.)

Earlier this year, I mentioned getting hooked on Bowie’s Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars album as a side note in a blog post. I spent the entire month of January with this album on loop in my car, learning the characteristics of each individual song. It’s rare that I find an album that I absolutely love from start to finish, but there’s just something about this one. Five Years starts off slowly but quickly sucks you in, and every subsequent song just gets better and better. I couldn’t even tell you which is my favorite because it changes every time I hear the album. (Okay, so I guess it’s a tie between Lady Stardust  -namely the original demo-, Moonage Daydream, and Rock ‘N’ Roll Suicide… Although Suffragette City and John, I’m Only Dancing -though that’s a b-side but whatever- are also a fuck ton of fun).

The point is, this is an incredible album and if you haven’t already listened to it, I suggest you get yourself a copy ASAP. Or ask me and i’ll get you one (already did it for two friends).

Here’s one tune to get you started on falling in love with Ziggy and the Spiders.

Also, if you haven’t already, definitely check out the documentary named after the album. For those of you with Netflix, there’s also the David Bowie: Spider from Mars: Interviews doc, which spans several decades of interviews related to that era of his career (but is NOT the Ziggy Stardust film itself).

 

PS. Sorry for the delay on this week’s Music Monday. Will try to be more consistent on timing and length of these posts. Generally, it’ll be a music recommendation, but I might veer in different directions as time goes on.

Leave a Reply

