(Sexy) Song of the Day: PJ Harvey “Is This Desire”

First, I should preface this with saying that not only is this a sexy song off PJ Harvey‘s album by the same name, but that this entire album exudes sex. Throughout, Ms. Harvey’s voice is heavy with a hunger that we’ve all felt at some point. Initially, I wanted to make the song of the day “The Garden“, which has all this imagery that’s both biblical and blasphemous. However, the simplicity, the honesty of “Is This Desire” is what made me go with it instead.

 

The song begins slowly, with PJ’s raspy vocals poking and prodding you awake. Nothing more than a little drum beat in the background, and then the guitar kicks in, gently pulling you in to the moment. I can feel the warmth coming up around me listening to it, the way my breathing goes in sync with the rising action of the song. It conjures up memories of morning sex, the kind where your body wakes up before you do. The sensation of the other person lying next to you, their skin pressed up against your own, hands slowly exploring, navigating passion. The chorus builds with every kiss shared, tongues and lips and cheeks and teeth, biting down on your lover’s lower lip. Mmph. Yeah, I can’t begin to explain the scenes going on in my head while I listen to this piece of audible seduction. Listen for yourself and you’ll see what I mean. And do yourself a favor, and get the whole album. PJ Harvey’s talent should be shared with and appreciated by the world.

4 responses

    • Oh, mannn. Yes, let me think…

      For specific tracks, i’d say Rub Til It Bleeds, Catherine, On Battleship Hill, Rid of Me, Big Exit, One Line, and Beautiful Feeling. Oh, and This Mess We’re In (it’s a duet between her and Thom Yorke of Radiohead) is goddamn beautiful. I’d say if you end up enjoying most of these songs, you’ll definitely end up a fan. She’s incredibly diverse in her work.

Leave a Reply

