Compare and Contrast #3: Super Trouper

People love to hate on ABBA. People looooooove to hate on ABBA. But I grew up listening to the great hits of this 1970/80’s Swedish pop-group thanks to my mom’s record collection and have since spent many a long drive home practically shrieking their songs from the confines of my car. It brings me joy. It brings me catharsis. There’s nothing quite like letting all your inhibitions down and belting out a few bars of Take A Chance On Me, picturing the object of your affection swoon at your feet, looking up at you and saying “Yes! Yes! I WILL take a chance on you!”

Score!

…Alright, maybe that’s just me.

Anyway… Today, while I was having a fairly intense conversation with a good friend of mine, a song came on that sounded somewhat familiar but that I just couldn’t put my finger on. That is, til the chorus hit. It was Camera Obscura’s cover of ABBA’s Super Trouper, and it made me all warm and snuggly inside. I’ve heard other ABBA songs covered (which I may use for future C&Cs) but this was certainly not one of them and I have to say it was pretty fantastic. And so, since this seems to be turning into a regular spot for my blog, I figured I would feature the song along with any covers I was able to get my YouTube on.

Without further ado, the original Super Trouper (originally released in 1980 under the title “Blinka lilla stjärna”, according to the usually trusty Wikipedia):

Now here’s the Camera Obscura cover of it, resembling an audible photograph of Super Trouper with a soft focus lens, but less cheesy:

Apparently a group called Custard also did a cover. This one’s alright. Not as metal as I think they might’ve meant to make it. Doesn’t really take it in a particularly strange new direction though:

Here’s a throwback 1920’s versus 1990’s dance version of the song, covered by Max Raabe and the Palast Orchestre that’s kinda fun:

And the BNB did kind of a mellow lounge, semi-tropical version of the song i’m kinda digging a lot more than I expected to. It makes me want to be in the Caribbean at an all-inclusive instead of scraping pennies in the Midwest:


And finally, there’s the also somewhat lounge-y, a little more jazz/funk infused cover by the Nils Landgren Funk Unit that kinda puts me in the mood for the holidays:

So are you a fan of the ABBA original or are you digging some of the other covers more? Cast your vote and stick around for the next time, where I dissect the inner workings of ABBA’s very original pre-Lady Gaga outfits (yay or nay? …alright, I won’t really be doing that, but you won’t know for sure unless you come back!)

One response

  1. Pingback: Compare and Contrast #4: Love Will Tear Us Apart | An Unconventionally Gorgeous Blog

Leave a Reply

